Favorites ()
Exterior of Law School Building

Initiative on Restorative Justice and Healing

Leadership Team

Leadership Team

"This work is a powerful example of the law school's mission in action" combining legal expertise with empathy, concern for the whole person, and the transformative power of human connection," University President Robert Vischer said. "Leadership in the restorative justice movement is a natural outgrowth of our commitment to advance the common good."

The Initiative on Restorative Justice and Healing is led by Father Daniel Griffith, the law school's Wenger Family Faculty Fellow. It was founded by Griffith, Julie Craven, Hank Shea, and Amy Levad who have extensive experience with restorative justice in a variety of settings - from victims of abuse to veterans. They have seen the power of a restorative approach to addressing harm and want to expand the conversation to include the ways restorative practices can be used to help repair people, relationships, and communities.

Meet Our Leadership

Fr. Daniel Griffith

Fr. Daniel Griffith

Founding Director

Fr. Griffith serves as the Wenger Family Faculty Fellow of Law. He teaches Catholic Thought, Law and Policy; Jurisprudence; and Restorative Justice, Law and Healing.

Meet Fr. Daniel Griffith
Julie Craven

Julie Craven

Associate Director

Julie Craven is a former corporate executive. In addition to the IRJH, she supports the restorative justice work in the Archdiocese of St. Paul and Minneapolis.

Meet Julie Craven
Hank Shea

Hank Shea


Former Assistant U.S. Attorney Hank Shea is a law professor and a fellow in the Holloran Center. He also teaches at the University of Arizona College of Law.

Meet Hank Shea
Amy Levad

Amy Levad


Amy Levad is a professor of theology at St. Thomas. Her work draws upon sacramental and liturgical ethics to argue for social justice and criminal justice reform.

Meet Amy Levad
Kimberly Vrudny

Kimberly Vrudny


Kimberly Vrudny is professor of systematic theology at the University of St. Thomas. She has been on faculty since 2001 and teaches in the areas of theological aesthetics, theology and the arts, and political theology.

Meet Kimberly Vrudny

Meet Our Advisory Board

In addition to the leadership team, an advisory board made up of a diverse group of individuals experienced and knowledgeable in restorative justice advises the IRJH on its strategic direction.

Fr. Christopher Collins, S.J.

Vice President for Mission
University of St. Thomas

Msgr. Chad Gion

Sioux County Catholic Communities

Catholic Chaplain
North Dakota National Guard

Victoria Johnson

Retired Lawyer

Former Archdiocese of St. Paul and Minneapolis Ombudsperson for Clergy Sex Abuse Victim-Survivors

Monique Maddox

Founding Principal, Macrame Technologies

Executive Board member, GU272 Descendants Association

Susan Mulheron

Chancellor for Canonical Affairs
Archdiocese of Saint Paul and Minneapolis

Mary Novak

Executive Director
NETWORK Lobby for Catholic Social Justice

Stephen Pope

Professor of Theology
Boston College

Jim Richter, M.D.


Amy Uelmen

Lecturer, Special Advisor to the Dean and Director for Mission & Ministry
Georgetown Law School

Sheryl Wilson

Kansas Institute for Peace and Conflict Resolution